WAVE Board Meeting

Thursday, 18 Oct. 2018


Board Members Present:

Virginia Hodgkinson, Miriam Kelty, Leigh Sempeles, Pat Scolero, Pat Clark, Sharon Canner, Gail Kutner, Eddie Rivas;  [Taking Office in Jan. 2019: Denise Snyder, Mary Jo Deering, Dave Prescott, Cele Garrett]

Unable To Attend:  Peggy Simpson and Don Moldover

Board Actions:

WAVE By-Laws Review, Administrative changes and topics for further discussion and action at future meetings

Discussion and Decisions.  The President, First Vice President and Second Vice President will collectively be from villages in DC, VA, and MD.

The First VP serves as primary backup or stand in for the President, in the absence of the President, and a Second VP who would be the next Board member to back up or stand in for the President.

When the Past President is available, that person may serve as an informal advisor to the President.

The Recording Secretary is responsible for taking minutes of all meetings; the Correspondence Secretary will prepare communications to WAVE members and interested parties, with assistance from Board members as appropriate.

All Board members will participate in suggesting and determining agendas/topics for WAVE Member meetings.

Noted that we need to have all board members sign Conflict of Interest statements.

Noted that Board members should be more proactive in reaching out to villages for ideas, speakers, membership concerns, etc. 

After an initial report from the By-Law and Sustainability Committee, the Board decided that, at a future meeting, this committee will suggest by-law changes, for review and decisions of the Board.

After a brief discussion of the things learned at the Village to Village National Gathering, the Board decided that, at a future meeting, the Board will review, discuss, and make recommendations and decision about the purpose and future of WAVE.

2019 Meetings Scheduled:  25 Feb 2019 – MD; 22 Apr 2019 – VA; 09 Sep 2019 – DC; 18 Nov 2019 – MD, Annual Member Business Meeting

Election of Officers – voted unanimously in favor for the year 2019

President                                Patricia Clark            DC

1st VP                                     Gail Kutner               VA

2nd VP                                    Mary Jo Deering       MD

Recording Secretary                Eddie Rivas              MD

Correspondence Secretary        Dave Prescott          VA

Treasurer                                Leigh Sempeles       DC

Next WAVE Board Meeting – Tue. 27 Nov 2019, 12:30-2:30 pm, 2501 Sherwood Hall Lane, Alexandria VA

     Agenda:      By-Laws review

                        Feb 2019 Member Meeting agenda

                        WAVE mission and/or role discussion & clarification

                        Review of WAVE dues – costs, reminder email, follow-up, etc.